URC Fixtures – Connacht, Leinster, Munster and Ulster beginning groups

 34,984 complete views,  1,245 views right now

We now have the beginning groups and the opposition for Connacht, Leinster, Munster, and Ulster on spherical 1 of the URC 2022/23


Leo Cullen has named the Leinster Rugby squad, as sponsored by Financial institution of Eire, for the URC season opener in opposition to Zebre Parma at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi (KO 1pm Irish time – LIVE on RTÉ, Premier Sports activities and URC TV).

Each of the brand new summer season signings, Jason Jenkins and Charlie Ngatai, are included within the beginning XV for his or her Leinster debuts.

Rhys Ruddock captains the facet from the again row the place he’s alongside Scott Penny and Max Deegan.

Rónan Kelleher, who missed the top of final season by damage, returns within the entrance row with Ed Byrne and Michael Ala’alatoa both facet of him whereas Ross Molony joins Jenkins at lock.

The acquainted pairing of Luke McGrath and Ross Byrne make up the half-backs with the opposite debutant, Ngatai, becoming a member of Jamie Osborne, now promoted from the Academy, in midfield.

Cullen and Co are in a position to welcome Dave Kearney again from damage for the brand new marketing campaign and he’s chosen on the left wing with Academy duo Rob Russell and Max O’Reilly finishing the again three.

There’s additionally a welcome return from damage for Will Connors who takes his place among the many replacements.

Leinster Rugby workforce to face Zebre Parma (appearances in brackets):

15. Max O’Reilly (9)
14. Rob Russell (5)
13. Jamie Osborne (19)
12. Charlie Ngatai (0)
11. Dave Kearney (173)
10. Ross Byrne (128)
9. Luke McGrath (175)

1. Ed Byrne (85)
2. Rónan Kelleher (36)
3. Michael Ala’alatoa (25)
4. Ross Molony (139)
5. Jason Jenkins (0)
6. Rhys Ruddock CAPTAIN (210)
7. Scott Penny (41)
8. Max Deegan (84)


16. John McKee (3)
17. Michael Milne (17)
18. Vakhtang Abdaladze (17)
19. Brian Deeny (2)
20. Alex Soroka (5)
21. Nick McCarthy (46)
22. Ciarán Frawley (56)
23. Will Connors (25)


Gavin Thornbury will captain Connacht for the primary time in tomorrow’s BKT URC opener in opposition to Ulster at Kingspan Stadium (ok/o 7.35pm).


The lock will make his sixty fourth look for the province in a squad that features three debutants and a doable two extra off the bench.


Peter Dooley, Josh Murphy and Byron Ralston have all been handed their first Connacht cap, with Shamus Hurley-Langton and David Hawkshaw additionally potential debutants off the bench.

Dooley is called in a entrance row with Jack Aungier and hooker Dave Heffernan, whereas Leva Fifita companions Thornbury within the second row. The pack is accomplished by flanker Conor Oliver and quantity 8 Paul Boyle.


Kieran Marmion and Conor Fitzgerald are paired collectively at 9 and 10, whereas the 2 Toms – Daly and Farrell – begin at centre. Ralston’s first sport will likely be on the proper wing, with John Porch on the alternative wing and Tiernan O’Halloran at full-back.


Commenting on the workforce announcement, Director of Rugby Andy Pal says:


“We’ve had a really constructive pre-season and there’s now an enormous sense of pleasure among the many group. There’s a real perception and optimism about what we will obtain on this first block of video games, which all begins in Belfast tomorrow evening.


Ulster are a top quality facet and our battles in opposition to them are at all times onerous fought. We’re actually wanting ahead going head-to-head with them in what must be a fantastic season opener for us each.”


Saturday seventeenth September 2022, 19:35 @ Kingspan Stadium

Quantity/Identify/Caps ( * denotes uncapped)
15. Tiernan O’Halloran (206)

14. Byron Ralston *

13. Tom Farrell (79)

12. Tom Daly (61)

11. John Porch (59)

10. Conor Fitzgerald (53)

9. Kieran Marmion (209)

1. Peter Dooley *

2. Dave Heffernan (165)

3. Jack Aungier (31)

4. Gavin Thornbury (63) (C)

5. Leva Fifita (15)

6. Josh Murphy *

7. Conor Oliver (41)

8. Paul Boyle (73)

16. Dylan Tierney-Martin (6)

17. Denis Buckley (208)

18. Sam Illo (2)

19. Niall Murray (35)

20. Shamus Hurley-Langton *

21. Caolin Blade (150)

22. David Hawkshaw *

23. Oran McNulty (9)


The Munster workforce has been named for the province’s BKT United Rugby Championship opener in Cardiff on Saturday (3.05pm, stay on URC TV, RTÉ 2, Premier Sport, BBC Wales and SuperSport).

The sport will see Head Coach Graham Rowntree and the brand new teaching workforce take cost of Munster in a aggressive fixture for the primary time.

Malakai Fekitoa will make his aggressive Munster debut after his summer season transfer to the province with the World Cup winner that includes in each pre-season video games.

Shane Daly begins at full-back with Calvin Nash and Liam Coombes on both flank as Fekitoa and Chris Farrell kind the centre partnership.

Scrum-half Paddy Patterson makes his second Munster begin on his eighth look for the province with Ben Healy at out-half.

Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell and Keynan Knox pack down within the entrance row with Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley within the engine room.

Captain Jack O’Donoghue, Alex Kendellen and Jack O’Sullivan full the facet.

Dave Kilcoyne is included among the many replacements and in line to make his first Munster look since February after recovering from a neck damage.

John Hodnett takes his place within the squad for the primary time since April as he returns from a knee damage.

In participant information, Stephen Archer, Mike Haley and Simon Zebo have been all unavailable for choice.

Archer is recovering from a knock, Haley reported stiffness this week and Zebo misses out on account of sickness.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Chris Farrell, Malakai Fekitoa, Liam Coombes; Ben Healy, Paddy Patterson; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, Keynan Knox; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Sullivan.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Dave Kilcoyne, Roman Salanoa, Tom Ahern, John Hodnett, Neil Cronin, Jack Crowley, Rory Scannell.


LiveScores Now Obtainable at IrishScores.com

Leave a Comment